top of page

Executive Committee

Membership and Duties

Membership. The Executive Committee shall consist of the ASA President, past ASA President, Vice-President/President Elect, Secretary, Treasurer, the Chair of the Diversity and Inclusion Committee, ASA Executive Director (ex-officio), and the Office Manager (ex-officio).

Duties. The Executive Committee will serve and advise at the President on business and concerns that may come before the Steering Committee. The Executive Committee will consult the Steering Committee as needed.

For more information about The Executive Committee's members, Annual Conference involvement and other documents, click here.

Executive Committee Members

Mary Thomas, Executive Director

Ann E. Bryant, Office Manager

Ann E. Bryant is office manager for Appalachian Studies Association and assistant-managing editor for the Journal of Appalachian Studies. She began her career as an intern at the West Virginia Legislature, while in undergraduate studies, where she wrote her first published article. She later became a reporter and columnist for her small-town newspaper, The Herald-Dispatch, while pursuing a bachelor’s degree. After earning a B.A. in Political Science from Marshall University, she became a legal librarian, and later a paralegal at a small firm and working on high-profile criminal and civil cases. While working in the legal field she began her graduate degree work at Marshall University in Political Theory, earning a M.A. with her thesis, “Where's the beef labeling?: A policy proposal concerning red meat.” Ann loves reading, coffee, and cats. Her favorite book if she had to choose, is probably Pride and Prejudice, and she loves young adult fantasy.

bottom of page